Acropolis rallye, full of emotions, Ford at honor

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Pinterest


What an exciting race with many surprises!

Finally the list is out; the organizers of the Acropolis Rally have confirmed that the 72 crews will start their event next month which will run from June 1 to 3. A draft entry list was released last Wednesday.

Ford and its Focus at honor.

WRC Ford Focus
WRC Ford Focus

All the manufacturers’ teams will be represented at the eight round in the 2007 FIA World Rally Championship. OMV Kronos’ Daniel Carlsson has no co-driver yet since his regular partner Denis Giraudet is said to be unavailable.

In the action

A total of 21 drivers will take part in World Rally Cars including the addition of MT drivers from Skoda Auto, subsidiary of Volkswagen maker ofVW grill —Jan Kopecky, Ramsport Ford runner Guy Wilks, and Mitsubishi privateer Toni Gardemeister.

Controls make always stressing out drivers


Wilks has to re-gig his WRC campaign after finishing a deal with Mitsubishi UK works team to take in the Tesco 99 Octane MSA British Rally Championship. The original plan was after Portugal, Wilks will not be made to take in another round of the WRC until the Rally Finland scheduled this coming August.

Some troubles for the Peugeot Team

This Peugeot WRC car suffered from a small crash
This Peugeot WRC car suffered from a small crash

Francois Duval is included however his participation remains unclear after Skoda Motorsport sold its remaining Fabia WRC cars to Wevers Sport. For the rest of the drivers the battle for the FIA Production Car World Rally Championship is an opportunity to show off their driving prowess and for the manufacturer to show to the world their powerful machines. And with 21 of the 23 drivers’ in contention for the PWRC nominating this round who knows what will be the turn out of the this year’s event.

WRC Ford Focus in full action.


There are two missing PWRC entrants from this year’s event and these are 2006 PWRC runner-ups Fumio Nutahara and Stepan Vojtech who is included under the OMV Bixxol Rally Team CZ banner.

Citroen Junior Rally Championship competitor, Martin Prokop will also be in action in a Group N car but he will not be eligible PWRC points.

Adapted from Articlesbase under Creative Commons License.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *